6AA-RC4 · DAA-RC4
Honda Odyssey RC4 specs
RC4 is the model code of the Honda Odyssey. Japan’s transport ministry lists it in its fuel economy lists from 2017–2022 under 2 model types 6AA-RC4, DAA-RC4. A genuine car’s chassis number starts RC4-.
RC4 at a glance
- Make
- Honda
- Model
- Odyssey
- Model code
- RC4
- Model types
- 6AA-RC4, DAA-RC4
- In MLIT’s lists
- 2017–2022
- Engines
- LFA 1,993 cc hybrid
- Gearboxes
- —
- Drive
- front-wheel drive
- Kerb weight
- 1,800–1,930 kg
- Official fuel economy
- 19.8–26 km/L (56–73 mpg)
Fuel economy is from Japan’s official tests and is usually better than you’ll see on UK roads. MLIT doesn’t list power or torque.
6AA-RC4
Listed 2018–2022. The 6AA prefix (our explanation, not MLIT’s) means hybrid passenger car certified to Japan’s 2018 emissions rules, 75% below their limits. Check 6AA-RC4 against ULEZ and clean air zones.
| Engine | Gearbox | Drive | Weight | Seats | Fuel economy | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LFA1,993 cc hybrid | not stated | front-wheel drive | 1,820–1,930 kg | 7–8 | 24.4–26 km/L69–73 mpg, Japanese JC08 test | 2018–2022 |
| LFA1,993 cc hybrid | not stated | front-wheel drive | 1,820–1,930 kg | 7–8 | 19.8–20.8 km/L56–59 mpg, WLTC test | 2018–2022 |
DAA-RC4
Listed 2017. The DAA prefix (our explanation, not MLIT’s) means hybrid passenger car certified to Japan’s 2005 emissions rules, 75% below their limits. Check DAA-RC4 against ULEZ and clean air zones.
| Engine | Gearbox | Drive | Weight | Seats | Fuel economy | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LFA1,993 cc hybrid | not stated | front-wheel drive | 1,800–1,910 kg | 7–8 | 24.4–26 km/L69–73 mpg, Japanese JC08 test | 2017 |
Each row is one version as MLIT lists it. A version can appear twice when MLIT gave figures on two tests that year. Low-emission stars and trim names aren’t shown. MLIT gives fuel economy in km/L; the mpg figures are our conversion to UK gallons. Japanese tests are gentler than real UK driving, so expect less.
RC4 build year by chassis number
Japan’s carmakers list the chassis numbers each code was built with every year from 2015. Find the serial below, or use the build year finder.
| Built | Chassis numbers |
|---|---|
| 2015 | RC4-1000001 to 1000047 |
| 2016 | RC4-1000048 to 1021452 |
| 2017 | RC4-1021453 to 1031237RC4-1100001 to 1100023RC4-1150001 to 1153342 |
| 2018 | RC4-1153343 to 1162700 |
| 2019 | RC4-1162701 to 1170213RC4-1200001 to 1200866 |
| 2020 | RC4-1200867 to 1204708RC4-1300001 to 1302220 |
| 2021 | RC4-1302221 to 1319258 |
From the JAMA chassis number lists: 車台番号一覧表. We keep only the chassis code, serial ranges and year. JAMA calls them reference information, not a certificate.
Check an RC4 before you buy
Make sure the car is what the advert says: the chassis number on the V5C should start RC4-, and the engine and gearbox should match one of the versions above. Our free check reads the UK MOT history and compares it with the chassis code.
Other Honda Odyssey model codes
Questions
What engine does the RC4 have?
MLIT lists the Honda Odyssey RC4 with LFA 1,993 cc hybrid.
What fuel economy does the RC4 get?
Officially between 19.8 and 26 km/L (about 56–73 mpg), depending on the version, on Japan’s own tests. Real-world figures are usually lower, especially against the older 10-15 mode test.
How heavy is the RC4?
Between 1,800 and 1,930 kg kerb weight, depending on the version.
Is 6AA-RC4 the same as RC4?
Yes. 6AA-RC4 is the full model type: the letters before the hyphen are Japan’s emissions code, which changed as the rules were tightened, and RC4 is the model code. The chassis number starts with RC4-.
About these figures
The model types, engine codes, capacities, gearboxes, drive, weights, seats and km/L figures are copied from MLIT’s yearly lists of cars on sale in Japan each March, so “listed” years are list years, not exact production dates. The English model names, mpg conversions, emissions code explanations and chassis number matching are ours. Lists before 2013 were printed as PDFs that we read by machine; where an older list gives an engine code that doesn’t match its capacity, we’ve used the figure the same model type has in other years. Check anything that matters against the car’s own papers. Spotted a mistake? Email [email protected]. All Honda model codes.
Source: Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism (MLIT), Japan, fuel economy lists 2004–2026, used under the Public Data License 1.0. Edited and translated by JDM History.