6AA-RP5
Honda Step WGN RP5 specs
RP5 is the model code of the Honda Step WGN. Japan’s transport ministry lists it in its fuel economy lists from 2018–2022 under the model type 6AA-RP5. A genuine car’s chassis number starts RP5-.
RP5 at a glance
- Make
- Honda
- Model
- Step WGN
- Model code
- RP5
- Model types
- 6AA-RP5
- In MLIT’s lists
- 2018–2022
- Engines
- LFA 1,993 cc hybrid
- Gearboxes
- —
- Drive
- front-wheel drive
- Kerb weight
- 1,780–1,820 kg
- Official fuel economy
- 20–25 km/L (56–71 mpg)
Fuel economy is from Japan’s official tests and is usually better than you’ll see on UK roads. MLIT doesn’t list power or torque.
6AA-RP5
Listed 2018–2022. The 6AA prefix (our explanation, not MLIT’s) means hybrid passenger car certified to Japan’s 2018 emissions rules, 75% below their limits. Check 6AA-RP5 against ULEZ and clean air zones.
| Engine | Gearbox | Drive | Weight | Seats | Fuel economy | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LFA1,993 cc hybrid | not stated | front-wheel drive | 1,780–1,820 kg | 7 | 25 km/L71 mpg, Japanese JC08 test | 2018–2022 |
| LFA1,993 cc hybrid | not stated | front-wheel drive | 1,780–1,820 kg | 7 | 20 km/L56 mpg, WLTC test | 2018–2022 |
Each row is one version as MLIT lists it. A version can appear twice when MLIT gave figures on two tests that year. Low-emission stars and trim names aren’t shown. MLIT gives fuel economy in km/L; the mpg figures are our conversion to UK gallons. Japanese tests are gentler than real UK driving, so expect less.
RP5 build year by chassis number
Japan’s carmakers list the chassis numbers each code was built with every year from 2015. Find the serial below, or use the build year finder.
| Built | Chassis numbers |
|---|---|
| 2017 | RP5-1050001 to 1059800 |
| 2018 | RP5-1059801 to 1081879RP5-1200001 to 1200003RP5-6000001 to 6000003 |
| 2019 | RP5-1081880 to 1099807RP5-1200004 to 1200024RP5-6000004 to 6000961RP5-6200001 to 6200001 |
| 2020 | RP5-1200025 to 1209896RP5-6200002 to 6200539 |
| 2021 | RP5-1209897 to 1225427RP5-6200540 to 6201368 |
From the JAMA chassis number lists: 車台番号一覧表. We keep only the chassis code, serial ranges and year. JAMA calls them reference information, not a certificate.
Check an RP5 before you buy
Make sure the car is what the advert says: the chassis number on the V5C should start RP5-, and the engine and gearbox should match one of the versions above. Our free check reads the UK MOT history and compares it with the chassis code.
Other Honda Step WGN model codes
- RF3listed 2004–2005
- RF4listed 2004–2005
- RF5listed 2004–2005
- RF6listed 2004–2005
- RF7listed 2004–2005
- RF8listed 2004–2005
- RG1listed 2006–2010
- RG2listed 2006–2010
- RG3listed 2006–2010
- RG4listed 2006–2010
- RK1listed 2010–2017
- RK2listed 2010–2017
- RK3listed 2010–2017
- RK4listed 2010–2017
- RP1listed 2016–2022
- RP2listed 2016–2022
- RP3listed 2016–2022
- RP4listed 2016–2022
- RP6listed 2023–2026
- RP7listed 2023–2026
- RP8listed 2023–2026
Questions
What engine does the RP5 have?
MLIT lists the Honda Step WGN RP5 with LFA 1,993 cc hybrid.
What fuel economy does the RP5 get?
Officially between 20 and 25 km/L (about 56–71 mpg), depending on the version, on Japan’s own tests. Real-world figures are usually lower, especially against the older 10-15 mode test.
How heavy is the RP5?
Between 1,780 and 1,820 kg kerb weight, depending on the version.
Is 6AA-RP5 the same as RP5?
Yes. 6AA-RP5 is the full model type: the letters before the hyphen are Japan’s emissions code, which changed as the rules were tightened, and RP5 is the model code. The chassis number starts with RP5-.
About these figures
The model types, engine codes, capacities, gearboxes, drive, weights, seats and km/L figures are copied from MLIT’s yearly lists of cars on sale in Japan each March, so “listed” years are list years, not exact production dates. The English model names, mpg conversions, emissions code explanations and chassis number matching are ours. Lists before 2013 were printed as PDFs that we read by machine; where an older list gives an engine code that doesn’t match its capacity, we’ve used the figure the same model type has in other years. Check anything that matters against the car’s own papers. Spotted a mistake? Email [email protected]. All Honda model codes.
Source: Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism (MLIT), Japan, fuel economy lists 2004–2026, used under the Public Data License 1.0. Edited and translated by JDM History.