Skip to content

6AA-HC27 · DAA-HC27

Nissan Serena HC27 specs

HC27 is the model code of the Nissan Serena. Japan’s transport ministry lists it in its fuel economy lists from 2019–2024 under 2 model types 6AA-HC27, DAA-HC27. A genuine car’s chassis number starts HC27-.

Buying one? Read our Nissan Serena C27 import guide for known problems, auction sheet notes and what to check.

HC27 at a glance

Make
Nissan
Model
Serena
Model code
HC27
Model types
6AA-HC27, DAA-HC27
In MLIT’s lists
2019–2024
Engines
HR12-EM57 1,198 cc petrol
Gearboxes
—
Drive
front-wheel drive
Kerb weight
1,730–1,790 kg
Official fuel economy
17.2–26.2 km/L (49–74 mpg)

Fuel economy is from Japan’s official tests and is usually better than you’ll see on UK roads. MLIT doesn’t list power or torque.

6AA-HC27

Listed 2021–2024. The 6AA prefix (our explanation, not MLIT’s) means hybrid passenger car certified to Japan’s 2018 emissions rules, 75% below their limits. Check 6AA-HC27 against ULEZ and clean air zones.

EngineGearboxDriveWeightSeatsFuel economyListed
HR12-EM571,198 cc petrolnot statedfront-wheel drive1,740–1,790 kg723.4–26 km/L66–73 mpg, Japanese JC08 test2021–2024
HR12-EM571,198 cc petrolnot statedfront-wheel drive1,740–1,790 kg717.2–18 km/L49–51 mpg, WLTC test2021–2024

DAA-HC27

Listed 2019–2020. The DAA prefix (our explanation, not MLIT’s) means hybrid passenger car certified to Japan’s 2005 emissions rules, 75% below their limits. Check DAA-HC27 against ULEZ and clean air zones.

EngineGearboxDriveWeightSeatsFuel economyListed
HR12-EM571,198 cc petrolnot statedfront-wheel drive1,730–1,790 kg723.4–26.2 km/L66–74 mpg, Japanese JC08 test2019–2020

Each row is one version as MLIT lists it. A version can appear twice when MLIT gave figures on two tests that year. Low-emission stars and trim names aren’t shown. MLIT gives fuel economy in km/L; the mpg figures are our conversion to UK gallons. Japanese tests are gentler than real UK driving, so expect less.

HC27 build year by chassis number

Japan’s carmakers list the chassis numbers each code was built with every year from 2015. Find the serial below, or use the build year finder.

HC27 · 6AA-HC27, DAA-HC27 · Nissan
BuiltChassis numbers
2017HC27-000001 to 000016HC27-000101 to 000101
2018HC27-000102 to 006091
2019HC27-006092 to 009556HC27-015001 to 015004HC27-015101 to 017396
2020HC27-017397 to 019698HC27-025001 to 025005HC27-025101 to 026640
2021HC27-026641 to 029863
2022HC27-029864 to 032531

From the JAMA chassis number lists: 車台番号一覧表. We keep only the chassis code, serial ranges and year. JAMA calls them reference information, not a certificate.

Check an HC27 before you buy

Make sure the car is what the advert says: the chassis number on the V5C should start HC27-, and the engine and gearbox should match one of the versions above. Our free check reads the UK MOT history and compares it with the chassis code.

Other Nissan Serena model codes

Questions

What engine does the HC27 have?

MLIT lists the Nissan Serena HC27 with HR12-EM57 1,198 cc petrol.

What fuel economy does the HC27 get?

Officially between 17.2 and 26.2 km/L (about 49–74 mpg), depending on the version, on Japan’s own tests. Real-world figures are usually lower, especially against the older 10-15 mode test.

How heavy is the HC27?

Between 1,730 and 1,790 kg kerb weight, depending on the version.

Is 6AA-HC27 the same as HC27?

Yes. 6AA-HC27 is the full model type: the letters before the hyphen are Japan’s emissions code, which changed as the rules were tightened, and HC27 is the model code. The chassis number starts with HC27-.

About these figures

The model types, engine codes, capacities, gearboxes, drive, weights, seats and km/L figures are copied from MLIT’s yearly lists of cars on sale in Japan each March, so “listed” years are list years, not exact production dates. The English model names, mpg conversions, emissions code explanations and chassis number matching are ours. Lists before 2013 were printed as PDFs that we read by machine; where an older list gives an engine code that doesn’t match its capacity, we’ve used the figure the same model type has in other years. Check anything that matters against the car’s own papers. Spotted a mistake? Email [email protected]. All Nissan model codes.

Source: Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism (MLIT), Japan, fuel economy lists 2004–2026, used under the Public Data License 1.0. Edited and translated by JDM History.