Skip to content

6AA-HFC27 · DAA-HFC27

Nissan Serena HFC27 specs

HFC27 is the model code of the Nissan Serena. Japan’s transport ministry lists it in its fuel economy lists from 2019–2024 under 2 model types 6AA-HFC27, DAA-HFC27. A genuine car’s chassis number starts HFC27-.

Buying one? Read our Nissan Serena C27 import guide for known problems, auction sheet notes and what to check.

HFC27 at a glance

Make
Nissan
Model
Serena
Model code
HFC27
Model types
6AA-HFC27, DAA-HFC27
In MLIT’s lists
2019–2024
Engines
HR12-EM57 1,198 cc petrol
Gearboxes
—
Drive
front-wheel drive
Kerb weight
1,740–1,800 kg
Official fuel economy
17.2–26.2 km/L (49–74 mpg)

Fuel economy is from Japan’s official tests and is usually better than you’ll see on UK roads. MLIT doesn’t list power or torque.

6AA-HFC27

Listed 2021–2024. The 6AA prefix (our explanation, not MLIT’s) means hybrid passenger car certified to Japan’s 2018 emissions rules, 75% below their limits. Check 6AA-HFC27 against ULEZ and clean air zones.

EngineGearboxDriveWeightSeatsFuel economyListed
HR12-EM571,198 cc petrolnot statedfront-wheel drive1,740–1,800 kg723.4–26 km/L66–73 mpg, Japanese JC08 test2021–2024
HR12-EM571,198 cc petrolnot statedfront-wheel drive1,740–1,800 kg717.2–18 km/L49–51 mpg, WLTC test2021–2024

DAA-HFC27

Listed 2019–2020. The DAA prefix (our explanation, not MLIT’s) means hybrid passenger car certified to Japan’s 2005 emissions rules, 75% below their limits. Check DAA-HFC27 against ULEZ and clean air zones.

EngineGearboxDriveWeightSeatsFuel economyListed
HR12-EM571,198 cc petrolnot statedfront-wheel drive1,740–1,790 kg723.4–26.2 km/L66–74 mpg, Japanese JC08 test2019–2020

Each row is one version as MLIT lists it. A version can appear twice when MLIT gave figures on two tests that year. Low-emission stars and trim names aren’t shown. MLIT gives fuel economy in km/L; the mpg figures are our conversion to UK gallons. Japanese tests are gentler than real UK driving, so expect less.

HFC27 build year by chassis number

Japan’s carmakers list the chassis numbers each code was built with every year from 2015. Find the serial below, or use the build year finder.

HFC27 · 6AA-HFC27, DAA-HFC27 · Nissan
BuiltChassis numbers
2017HFC27-000001 to 000036HFC27-000050 to 000052HFC27-000101 to 000105
2018HFC27-000106 to 028681
2019HFC27-028682 to 047799HFC27-050001 to 050024HFC27-050101 to 067326HFC27-800001 to 800001
2020HFC27-067327 to 081410HFC27-090001 to 090013HFC27-090101 to 102381
2021HFC27-102382 to 129799
2022HFC27-129800 to 158345

From the JAMA chassis number lists: 車台番号一覧表. We keep only the chassis code, serial ranges and year. JAMA calls them reference information, not a certificate.

Check an HFC27 before you buy

Make sure the car is what the advert says: the chassis number on the V5C should start HFC27-, and the engine and gearbox should match one of the versions above. Our free check reads the UK MOT history and compares it with the chassis code.

Other Nissan Serena model codes

Questions

What engine does the HFC27 have?

MLIT lists the Nissan Serena HFC27 with HR12-EM57 1,198 cc petrol.

What fuel economy does the HFC27 get?

Officially between 17.2 and 26.2 km/L (about 49–74 mpg), depending on the version, on Japan’s own tests. Real-world figures are usually lower, especially against the older 10-15 mode test.

How heavy is the HFC27?

Between 1,740 and 1,800 kg kerb weight, depending on the version.

Is 6AA-HFC27 the same as HFC27?

Yes. 6AA-HFC27 is the full model type: the letters before the hyphen are Japan’s emissions code, which changed as the rules were tightened, and HFC27 is the model code. The chassis number starts with HFC27-.

About these figures

The model types, engine codes, capacities, gearboxes, drive, weights, seats and km/L figures are copied from MLIT’s yearly lists of cars on sale in Japan each March, so “listed” years are list years, not exact production dates. The English model names, mpg conversions, emissions code explanations and chassis number matching are ours. Lists before 2013 were printed as PDFs that we read by machine; where an older list gives an engine code that doesn’t match its capacity, we’ve used the figure the same model type has in other years. Check anything that matters against the car’s own papers. Spotted a mistake? Email [email protected]. All Nissan model codes.

Source: Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism (MLIT), Japan, fuel economy lists 2004–2026, used under the Public Data License 1.0. Edited and translated by JDM History.